Slade kick off deluxe vinyl reissues with a very cool Slayed? splatter vinyl

30 July 2021, 13:30 | Updated: 19 September 2023, 14:14

Noddy Holder - Slayed?
Noddy Holder - Slayed? Picture: Getty / Polydor Records

By Mayer Nissim

The release follows the release of last year's excellent Cum On Feel the Hitz.

If you're looking to replace your battered Slade LPs from the 1970s, now could be the perfect time as the band announce a new deluxe vinyl album reissue series.

The first album to get the special treatment is the band's third album Slayed?, which was originally released in 1972.

It will be available in a yellow and black "exclusive splatter version" on September 3, and is available to pre-order now on the band's official online store.

Slade - Slayed? on splatter vinyl
Slade - Slayed? on splatter vinyl. Picture: Slade

Read more: Noddy Holder is planning a music comeback and has been writing new songs

Further albums will be announced in due course, Classic Rock reports.

On its original release, Slayed? entered the UK albums chart at number one, going silver and staying in the charts for a whopping 34 weeks.

The tracklisting of Slayed? is as follows:


  1. How D’You Ride
  2. The Whole World’s Goin’ Crazee
  3. Look at Last Nite
  4. I Won’t Let It ‘Appen Agen
  5. Move Over


  1. Gudbuy T’Jane
  2. Gudbuy Gudbuy
  3. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
  4. I Don’t Mind
  5. Let the Good Times Roll / Feel so Fine

Slade - Mama Weer All Crazee Now • TopPop

Read more: The making of Slade's 'Merry Xmas Everybody'

The release follows last year's Cum On Feel The Hitz 2CD/2LP compilation, which reached number 8 on the UK album chart.

The 43 track (CD)/24 track (LP) best-of collected the bands singles from 1970 to 1991.

It featured 16 Top 10 singles, including the band's six number ones: 'Coz I Luv You', 'Take Me Bak 'Ome', 'Mama Weer All Crazee Now', 'Cum On Feel The Noize', 'Skweeze Me, Pleeze Me' and 'Merry Xmas Everybody'.

Slade seemingly split up last year after 57 years and various lineups, when previously ever-present drummer Don Powell was forced from the band, leaving Dave Hill as the sole continuous member of the group.

Powell was then replaced by Alex Bines, while he signalled his intention to form a group called Don Powell's Slade with ex-Slade II bassist Craig Fenney.

Frontman Noddy Holder previously left the band in 1992 to pursue other work and projects.

Last Played Songs