Tears For Fears announce their first new album in 17 years

7 October 2021, 12:34

Tears For Fears
Tears For Fears. Picture: Getty

By Mayer Nissim

The Tipping Point will be the first Tears For Fears album for nearly two decades.

Tears For Fears have announced their new album The Tipping Point.

Released on February 25, 2022 via Concord Records, it's the first studio album from the duo since 2004’s Everybody Loves a Happy Ending.

Roland Orzabal said: "Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong, it took years, but something happens when we put our heads together.

Tears For Fears - The Tipping Point
Tears For Fears - The Tipping Point. Picture: Concor

QUIZ: Can you name the '80s bands hidden in these tricky anagrams?

"We've got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well."

Curt Smith added: “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work.

"To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on."

Urged by their former managers, the band had started working with some modern hitmakers before things fell apart.

"Eventually, that pressure and tension divided us not just from our management, but from one another too," Orzabal said.

Tears For Fears - The Tipping Point (Official Music Video)

The band then moved to new managers, who agreed with the duo on the five songs they both wanted to keep from those first sessions

"Suddenly, for the first time in a long time, we felt like we had someone in our corner who understood what we were trying to do.

"We felt like we had somebody on our side. It was the first time in a long time that we decided - we have to do this."

Tears for Fears in concert
Tears for Fears in concert. Picture: Getty

The album was completed with longtime collaborator Charlton Pettus along with producers and songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter.

The lead single and title track ‘The Tipping Point’ is available to stream now, along with a video from Matt Mahurin, who has previously worked with Joni Mitchell, U2 and Metallica.

The full tracklisting of The Tipping Point is as follows:

  1. No Small Thing
  2. The Tipping Point
  3. Long, Long, Long Time
  4. Break The Man
  5. My Demons
  6. Rivers Of Mercy
  7. Please Be Happy
  8. Master Plan
  9. End Of Night
  10. Stay

Super Deluxe Edition CD Bonus Tracks

  1. Let It All Evolve
  2. Secret Location
  3. The Shame

Last Played Songs