Ex-Fleetwood Mac star Lindsey Buckingham announces solo album and tour

10 June 2021, 12:37 | Updated: 23 May 2022, 16:22

Lindsey Buckingham
Lindsey Buckingham. Picture: Lauren Dukoff

By Mayer Nissim

Lindsey Buckingham releases his self-titled album in September and takes it on the road next year.

Lindsey Buckingham has announced details of his first solo album in 10 years and a full North American tour.

The self-titled Lindsey Buckingham will be released on September 17, 2021, and is trailed by the lead single ‘I Don’t Mind’, which you can stream on Spotify now.

The album is the solo follow-up to 2011’s Seeds We Sow and was written, recorded and produced by Buckingham at his own home studio in Los Angeles.

“I wanted to make a pop album, but I also wanted to make stops along the way with songs that resemble art more than pop,” Buckingham said.

“As you age, hopefully you keep getting a little more grounded in the craft of what you’re doing.

“For me, getting older has probably helped to reinforce the innocence and the idealism that hopefully was always there.”

Lindsey Buckingham album
Lindsey Buckingham album. Picture: Reprise

He added of the lead single: “‘I Don’t Mind’, like many of the songs on my new album, is about the challenges couples face in long-term relationships.

“Over time, two people inevitably find the need to augment their initial dynamic with one of flexibility, an acceptance of each others’ flaws and a willingness to continually work on issues; it is the essence of a good long term relationship.

“This song celebrates that spirit and discipline.”

The album will be available on vinyl and CD, as well as download and streaming, and a limited edition blue vinyl edition is available to pre-order now via the official Lindsey Buckingham website.

The full tracklisting of Lindsey Buckingham is as follows:

  1. Scream
  2. I Don't Mind
  3. On The Wrong Side
  4. Swan Song
  5. Blind Love
  6. Time
  7. Blue Light
  8. Power Down
  9. Santa Rosa
  10. Dancing

Buckingham was fired from Fleetwood Mac in April 2018 and released Solo Anthology: The Best of Lindsey Buckingham in October that year.

During and after his time as lead guitarist and one of the singers with Fleetwood Mac, Buckingham has released seven studio albums and three live collections as a solo artist.

Tickets for Buckingham’s 30-date North American tour go on sale tomorrow (June 11) at 10am local time.

The full US tour dates are:

  • 9/1/2021 The Pabst Theater - Milwaukee, WI
  • 9/3/2021 Mystic Lake - Mystic Showroom - Prior Lake, MN
  • 9/4/2021 Four Winds Casino Resort / Silver Creek Event Center - New Buffalo, MI
  • 9/7/2021 Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall - Munhall, PA
  • 9/8/2021 Riviera Theatre - North Tonawanda, NY
  • 9/9/2021 The Academy of Music - Northampton, MA
  • 9/11/2021 The Chevalier Theater - Medford, MA
  • 9/12/2021 The Music Hall - Portsmouth, NH
  • 9/14/2021 Warner Theatre - Washington, DC
  • 9/16/2021 The Town Hall - New York, NY
  • 9/18/2021 Tropicana Casino & Resort - Atlantic City, NJ
  • 9/19/2021 Santander Performing Arts Center - Reading, PA
  • 9/21/2021 Knight Theatre - Charlotte, NC
  • 9/22/2021 Woodruff Arts Center - Symphony Hall - Atlanta, GA
  • 9/24/2021 Bijou Theatre - Knoxville, TN
  • 9/26/2021 Ponte Vedra Concert Hall - Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
  • 9/27/2021 Ruth Eckerd Hall - Clearwater, FL
  • 9/29/2021 King Center for the Performing Arts - Melbourne, FL
  • 9/30/2021 Parker Playhouse - Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • 12/2/2021 The Theatre at Ace Hotel - Los Angeles, CA
  • 12/3/2021 Magnolia Performing Arts Center - El Cajon, CA
  • 12/5/2021 Fox Tucson Theatre - Tucson, AZ
  • 12/8/2021 The Paramount Theatre For the Performing arts - Austin, TX
  • 12/9/2021 Majestic Theatre - Dallas, TX
  • 12/11/2021 Smart Financial Centre - Sugar Land, TX
  • 12/13/2021 Von Braun Center - Mars Music Hall - Huntsville, AL
  • 12/15/2021 Uptown Theater - Kansas City, MO
  • 12/17/2021 The Criterion - Oklahoma City, OK
  • 12/18/2021 Orpheum Theatre - Wichita, KS
  • 12/20/2021 Boulder Theater - Boulder, CO

Last Played Songs