Gerry Rafferty's long-awaited posthumous Rest in Blue album is coming soon

5 July 2021, 10:35

Gerry Rafferty in concert
Gerry Rafferty in concert. Picture: Getty

By Mayer Nissim

Gerry's daughter Martha Rafferty has helped complete the 14-track album of new recordings.

Gerry Rafferty's 11th studio album Rest in Blue will be released on September 3.

Rafferty had been working on-and-off on the album since 2006, but was unable to complete it before his death in 2011.

The 14-track project has been completed by his daughter Martha, and features artwork from his friend and longtime collaborator John Byrne. 

Gerry Rafferty - Rest in Blue
Gerry Rafferty - Rest in Blue. Picture: Metanoia Music Ltd

While many of the demos left behind by Gerry included layers of synthesisers, Martha chose to strip these away to showcase her father's voice.

Musicians who feature on the new album include ex-Dire Straits player Alan Clark on piano and Hammond organ, backing vocalist Katie Kissoon, and guitarist Hugh Burns, who previously recorded the solo on Rafferty's 1978 smash 'Baker Street'.

The lead single 'Slow Down' is co-produced and mixed by Tambala, and is available to stream now.

Slow Down

The album features tracks recorded over a number of years, with some of the songs based on demos recorded as far back as the 1970s.

Rest in Blue closes with a country-inspired re-recording of 'Stuck In The Middle With You' dating from the 1990s.

The original version was released by Rafferty and Joe Egan as part of Stealers Wheel back in 1973, and was used by Quentin Tarantino in his 1992 directorial debut Reservoir Dogs.

Stuck in the Middle with you - Stealers Wheel

The full tracklisting of Rest in Blue is as follows:

  1. Still In Denial
  2. Full Moon
  3. Sign Of The Times
  4. You Are All I Want
  5. I Still Love You
  6. Wild Mountain Thyme
  7. Slow Down
  8. It’s Just The Motion
  9. Look At Me Now
  10. Dirty Old Town
  11. Lost Highway
  12. Keeper Of My Soul
  13. Precious Moments
  14. Stuck In The Middle With You

Rafferty's last studio album was 2009's Life Goes On, an 18-track collection of new songs, re-edits of recent tracks, covers, traditional music, and Christmas carols.

Read more: Music news on Gold

Last Played Songs