Roger Taylor's solo tour may be his last – but Queen will keep on playing

23 September 2021, 10:14

Roger Taylor performing with Queen
Roger Taylor performing with Queen. Picture: Getty

By Mayer Nissim

The Queen drummer thinks that his upcoming solo tour may be his last ever.

Roger Taylor has said that his upcoming solo tour may well be his last.

But Queen fans don't have to worry just yet, as the drummer has pledged to continue touring with Brian May for as long as they can.

Taylor told ITV News of his impending live dates: "I thought well, you know, tick tock, time is wasting!

Read more: Roger Taylor almost laughed when Freddie Mercury first sang for Queen

"I might not be able to do it again in a solo capacity, although I have a great band, so I thought this will be the last time I do it solo.

"But Brian and I intend to continue with Queen as long as we can do it properly."

The 72-year-old added of his struggles of drumming with arthritis: "The hands are just about there! They're hanging on."

Read more: Rare video of Freddie Mercury playing the drums at a band rehearsal in 1977 is phenomenal

As well as drumming with Queen, Taylor was also a key songwriter, having writing or co-writing credits on a run of hits including 'These Are the Days of Our Lives', 'Innuendo', 'Under Pressure', 'Radio Ga Ga', 'A Kind of Magic', 'Heaven for Everyone' and 'One Vision', among others.

Roger releases his sixth solo album Outsider on October 1 and it's available for pre-order now.

He will support it with his first solo tour in 20 years the same month.

The full tour dates are as follows:

  • Saturday October 2 – Newcastle, O2 Academy
  • Sunday October 3 – Manchester, Academy
  • Tuesday October 5 – York, Barbican
  • Wednesday October 6 – Cardiff, St. David’s Hall
  • Friday October 8 – Liverpool, O2 Academy
  • Saturday October 9 – Norwich, University East Anglia (UEA)
  • Monday October 11 – Bath, Forum
  • Tuesday October 12 – Bournemouth, O2 Academy
  • Thursday October 14 – Plymouth, Pavilions
  • Friday October 15 – Nottingham, Rock City
  • Sunday October 17 – Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion
  • Tuesday October 19 – Guilford, G Live
  • Wednesday October 20 – Coventry, HMV Empire
  • Friday October 22 – London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire