The Pretenders announce brand new album Relentless - listen to lead single 'Let The Sun Come In'

17 May 2023, 10:10

Chrissie Hynde is back with a new album from The Pretenders.
Chrissie Hynde is back with a new album from The Pretenders. Picture: Parlophone/Getty

Chrissie Hynde has forever been one of rock 'n' roll's more outspoken frontwomen.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

And the lead singer of The Pretenders has confirmed they still have the same "impulsiveness" and "attitude" they've always had with their upcoming twelfth studio album.

Relentless is set for release on September 1, 2023, through Parlophone, which will mark their first new album since 2020's Hate For Sale.

The legendary band have released the nostalgic new single 'Let The Sun Come In' which captures the same spirit as fan favourites including 'Talk Of The Town' and 'Back On The Chain Gang'.

Talking about the title of the new album, Chrissie Hynde said in a press statement: "I enjoy seeing the various meanings and origins of a word."

"And I liked the definition: 'showing no abatement of intensity'. So when it came to an album title, it seemed fitting. You know … to keep doing it" she added.

"I think anyone in a band is constantly questioning if they should keep going. It starts as a youthful pursuit and eventually, it makes you wonder, why am I doing this?"

"It’s the life of the artist. You never retire. You become relentless" she declared, over forty years into the band's existence.

Pretenders - Let The Sun Come In (Official Audio)

The upcoming album is their second consecutive release by The Pretenders to be written by Hynde in collaboration with North London artist James Walbourne.

Talking about their fruitful partnership, Hynde said: "We had developed this method of working remotely and it seemed like we just kept on doing it for this album."

"This is something that we’ve honed down to an art in the last few years. He always comes up with something I wouldn’t have thought of myself and I love surprises."

There's a surprise on the tracklist which includes a collaboration with Radiohead guitarist and composer Jonny Greenwood.

'I Think About You Daily' features a string arrangement courtesy of Greenwood and is performed by 12 Ensemble.

"I met Jonny a couple of times and we’re obviously big fans of him because he’s done some incredible music over the years" said Chrissie Hynde, in reference to how the track came together.

"I saw him at the Phantom Thread premiere where the film was running on screen with a live orchestra playing, and we spoke afterward and he expressed an interest in doing something one day."

"I was thrilled and very surprised. So when we had the idea of getting strings on ‘I Think About You Daily,’ he was first choice. Legend!"

The artwork for The Pretenders' new album Relentless.
The artwork for The Pretenders' new album Relentless. Picture: Parlophone

The Pretenders recently made their live comeback at UK festival The Great Escape where they debuted new songs, ahead of a run of shows in the UK, Ireland and Europe.

One of their main appearances will be supporting Guns N'Roses at London's BST Hyde Park where they'll road-test the new album ahead of its release.

In October they'll jet over to Ohana Festival in California, where they'll perform after being personally invited by Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder and Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl.

The Pretenders scored their first UK number-one hit in 1979 with 'Brass In Pocket' and had other huge charting tracks in 'Don't Get Me Wrong' and later 'I'll Stand By You'.

Pretenders - Brass In Pocket (Official Music Video)

For the full tracklist of The Pretenders' new album Relentless, see below:

1. ‘Losing My Sense Of Taste’

2. ‘A Love’

3. ‘Domestic Silence’

4. ‘The Copa’

5. ‘Promise Of Love’

6. ‘Merry Widow’

7. ‘Let The Sun Come In’

8. ‘Look Away’

9. ‘Your House Is On Fire’

10. ‘Just Let It Go’

11. ‘Vainglorious’

12. ‘I Think About You Daily’

Last Played Songs