Bruce Springsteen announces new greatest hits album: Full tracklist revealed

4 March 2024, 12:48

Bruce Springsteen Western Stars movie trailer

By Mayer Nissim

Bruce Springsteen announces two very different versions of his latest best-of.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

Bruce Springsteen has been at the very top of rock and roll for over half a century now.

In that time he's released a whopping 21 studio albums, a couple of soundtrack collections, more live documents than we can even begin to count, and naturally plenty of greatest hits compilations.

It actually took Bruce over two decades to release his first best-of, 1995's simply titled Greatest Hits, and since then we've had the more extensive double CD The Essential Bruce Springsteen in 2003, and a decade later the updated-but-trimmed-down Collection: 1973–2012.

In 2016 there was the memoir-adjacent Chapter and Verse, but given Bruce's continued commercial and critical success, a new best-of has felt overdue.

So it's no surprise that Sony - which has already sunk $500 million into owning the rights to all of Bruce's back catalogue - has announced the all-new Best of Bruce Springsteen, which is released on physical and digital formats on April 19, 2024.

Bruce Springsteen
Bruce Springsteen then and now. Picture: Getty Images

"Sony Music will celebrate the music of Bruce Springsteen next month with a collection of original songs spanning his storied 50-year recording career, from 1973’s Greeting from Asbury Park, NJ to 2020’s Letter To You, read the announcement on Bruce's website.

"The collection will span early-career favourites like 'Growin' Up' and 'Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)', staples of Springsteen’s live shows from 'Dancing In The Dark' to 'The Rising', best-selling breakouts like 'Born To Run' and 'Hungry Heart', as well as recent releases 'Hello Sunshine' and 'Letter To You'.

"Here, these career-spanning works appear together in one set for the first time. Best Of Bruce Springsteen arrives with an album cover shot by Eric Meola during the Born To Run sessions, as well as new liner notes by Erik Flannigan.

Bruce Springsteen - Growin' Up (Official Audio)

The collection will be available in two very different versions. An expansive two-disc 18 track version on CD and vinyl, and an exhaustive 31-track version on download and streaming.

The Best of Bruce Springsteen CD and Vinyl tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Growin’ Up
  2. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  3. Born To Run
  4. Thunder Road
  5. Badlands
  6. Hungry Heart
  7. Atlantic City
  8. Dancing in the Dark
  9. Born in the U.S.A
  10. Brilliant Disguise
  11. Human Touch
  12. Streets of Philadelphia
  13. The Ghost of Tom Joad
  14. Secret Garden
  15. The Rising
  16. Girls In Their Summer Clothes
  17. Hello Sunshine
  18. Letter To You
Bruce Springsteen - Best of Bruce Springsteen
Bruce Springsteen - Best of Bruce Springsteen. Picture: Sony Music

The Best of Bruce Springsteen digital tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Growin’ Up
  2. Spirit In The Night
  3. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  4. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
  5. Born To Run
  6. Tenth Avenue Freeze Out
  7. Thunder Road
  8. Badlands
  9. Prove It All Night
  10. The River
  11. Hungry Heart
  12. Atlantic City
  13. Glory Days
  14. Dancing in the Dark
  15. Born in the U.S.A
  16. Brilliant Disguise
  17. Tougher Than The Rest
  18. Human Touch
  19. If I Should Fall Behind
  20. Living Proof
  21. Streets of Philadelphia
  22. The Ghost of Tom Joad
  23. Secret Garden
  24. The Rising
  25. Long Time Comin’
  26. Girls In Their Summer Clothes
  27. The Wrestler
  28. We Take Care Of Our Own
  29. Hello Sunshine
  30. Ghosts
  31. Letter To You

Last Played Songs