Fleetwood Mac star Lindsey Buckingham releases new song 'Scream'

2 September 2021, 10:52 | Updated: 23 May 2022, 16:21

Lindsey Buckingham in concert
Lindsey Buckingham in concert. Picture: Getty

By Mayer Nissim

'Scream' features on Lindsey Buckingham's upcoming self-titled solo album, his first in a decade.

Ex-Fleetwood Mac star Lindsey Buckingham has released a new song 'Scream'.

The song is the third to be shared from the upcoming self-titled Lindsey Buckingham album, following 'I Don’t Mind' and 'On The Wrong Side'.

Lindsey Buckingham is Buckingham's seventh solo album, and his first since 2011's Seeds We Sow.

Lindsey Buckingham - Scream (Official Audio)

"Everything on the record is me, for better or worse," Buckingham said.

"Many of the songs on this album are about the work and discipline it takes in maintaining a long-term relationship. Some of them are more about the discipline and some of them are more about the perks."

He added: "'Scream' is about the perks. It felt very celebratory and it was also very, very simple and short. To the point. It didn't evolve into some huge thing. It made its case and got the hell out.

"It just seemed like a good place to start the album, somehow. It's very upbeat and very optimistic and very positive. It's a celebration of an aspect of life."

Fleetwood Mac at the Grammys in 1978
Fleetwood Mac at the Grammys in 1978. Picture: Getty

Read more: Fleetwood McDonald’s workers meet Fleetwood Mac after campaign goes viral

Written, produced and recorded by Buckingham at his home studio in Los Angeles, California, Lindsey Buckingham is released on September 17, 2021 via Reprise.

The album will be available on vinyl and CD, as well as download and streaming, and a limited edition blue vinyl edition is available to pre-order now via the official Lindsey Buckingham website.

The full tracklisting of Lindsey Buckingham is as follows:

  1. Scream
  2. I Don't Mind
  3. On The Wrong Side
  4. Swan Song
  5. Blind Love
  6. Time
  7. Blue Light
  8. Power Down
  9. Santa Rosa
  10. Dancing

Lindsey Buckingham - Trouble (Official Music Video)

Buckingham has also added a clutch of European dates to his 2021-22 tour, including the following 2022 concerts in the UK and Ireland:

  • Tuesday, May 17 - The Helix, Dublin, Ireland
  • Thursday, May 19 - SEC Armadillo, Glasgow
  • Saturday, May 21 - Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool
  • Sunday, May 22 - London Palladium, London

Buckingham was fired from Fleetwood Mac in April 2018, and the guitarist blamed Stevie Nicks for his exit, later saying he didn't expect to return.

He has been replaced in the band by Crowded House star Neil Finn and Mike Campbell from Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers.

Speaking in 2020, Mick Fleetwood ruled out the chance of Buckingham ever rejoining the group.

However, Fleetwood and Buckingham reconciled earlier this year following the death of original Fleetwood Mac founder Peter Green and hinted that a reunion was possible, with Fleetwood saying "strange things can happen".

Last Played Songs