Diana Ross brings the hits to her Legends Slot set at Glastonbury

27 June 2022, 12:09 | Updated: 11 October 2023, 14:02

Watch the trailer for Glastonbury – The Movie

By Mayer Nissim

Diana Ross follows in the footsteps of legends before her to win over the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

Diana Ross hadn't played in the UK for well over a decade when she popped up to headline the Queen's Platinum Jubilee Party at the Palace earlier this month.

She's currently on a full UK tour of her comeback album Thank You, and that included the Legend's Slot on Sunday afternoon on the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury on Sunday night.

The disco icon walked in the footsteps of legends before her, including Lionel Richie, Kylie Minogue, Neil Diamond, Leonard Cohen and Dolly Parton.

Diana Ross opened the set with her 1980 hit 'I'm Coming Out', before playing a career-spanning set featuring hits from her solo years, as well as songs by her former 1960s group The Supremes.

As well as three songs from her most recent album, Ross played several covers she has enjoyed success with over the years, including Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell's 'Ain't No Mountain High Enough' and set closer 'I Will Survive', originally by Gloria Gaynor.

Diana Ross at Glastonbury Festival
Diana Ross at Glastonbury Festival. Picture: Getty Images

During the show, Ross joked about being able to dance the way she could at the age of 48... quipping, "well, I feel 48 years old".

The full Diana Ross setlist was as follows:

  1. I'm Coming Out
  2. More Today Than Yesterday
  3. My World Is Empty Without You
  4. Baby Love
  5. Stop! In the Name of Love
  6. You Can't Hurry Love
  7. Chain Reaction
  8. Thank You
  9. Tomorrow
  10. If the World Just Danced
  11. I'm Still Waiting
  12. Upside Down
  13. Love Hangover / Take Me Higher / Ease on Down the Road
  14. Why Do Fools Fall In Love
  15. Theme From Mahogany (Do You Know Where You're Going To)
  16. Ain't No Mountain High Enough
  17. I Will Survive