Dolly Parton's new 30-track album Rockstar includes a Beatles reunion, Debbie Harry, Sting and more

10 May 2023, 11:37 | Updated: 10 January 2024, 12:41

Dolly Parton looks incredible in playboy bunny outfit to mark husband Carl's birthday

By Mayer Nissim

The running order of special guests has to be seen to be believed.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

When Dolly Parton was first nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, she tried to reject the nod.

She argued that she hadn't yet recorded a rock album, but added that she certainly had plans to do so.

The country icon – who eventually accepted her induction – has now delivered on that promise and then some, with a massive 30-track album packed with more special guests than you could possibly begin to imagine.

Rockstar features 21 massive rock covers and nine original songs, including the lead single 'World on Fire'.

"This is a song I felt very inspired to write," Dolly said of the track, which is released on May 11.

Dolly Parton - World on Fire
Dolly Parton - World on Fire. Picture: Dolly Parton

"I think it speaks about everything and to everyone in this day and time. I hope it is something that will touch you and maybe touch enough people to want to make a change for the better."

Guests on the album include the likes of Richie Sambora, Sting, Steve Perry, Ann Wilson, John Fogerty, Kid Rock, Steven Tyler, Stevie Nicks, Pink, Brandi Carlile, Elton John, Debbie Harry, Lizzo, Emmylou Harris, Sheryl Crow and Pat Benetar.

Her cover of 'Let It Be' reunites the two surviving Beatles Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr, with Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood also performing on the song.

Dolly Parton Performs "Rockin" | Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2022 | HBO MAX

Rockstar is available to pre-order now and is released on November 11.

"I'm so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album Rockstar!" Dolly said.

"I am very honoured and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure.

"I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I've enjoyed putting it together."

Dolly Parton – Rockstar
Dolly Parton – Rockstar. Picture: Dolly Parton

The full Rockstar tracklisting is as follows.

  1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)
  2. World on Fire
  3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
  4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
  5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
  6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
  7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
  8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
  9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
  10. Purple Rain
  11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
  12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
  13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
  15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
  16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
  17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
  18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
  19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
  20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
  21. We Are The Champions
  22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
  23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
  24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
  25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
  26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
  27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
  28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
  29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
  30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Last Played Songs