Rolling Stones finally confirm new album Hackney Diamonds and announce global launch

5 September 2023, 11:28 | Updated: 13 September 2023, 15:14

Gimme Shelter – Rolling Stones movie trailer

By Mayer Nissim

After nearly two decades of waiting, Hackney Diamonds is coming very, very soon.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

After years of waiting and weeks of teasing, The Rolling Stones have finally confirmed the upcoming release of their new studio album Hackney Diamonds.

The album will be the band's first since the passing of long-time drummer Charlie Watts, who died in 2021 at the age of 80.

It's also the group's first studio release since 2016's covers collection Blue & Lonesome, and their first of newly-written material since 2005's A Bigger Bang, 18 years ago.

The Rolling Stones group have been talking about the recording of the album for a few years now, but things ramped up last month when an advert for a glass repair firm called "Hackney Diamonds" littered with Rolling Stones references was printed in the Hackney Gazette.

The band have now officially confirmed that Hackney Diamonds is the name of the new record, their 24th UK and 26th US studio album.

The Rolling Stones on their Sixty tour
The Rolling Stones on their Sixty tour. Picture: Getty Images

The group will launch the album tomorrow (Wednesday, September 5) with a live conversation with Jimmy Fallon, broadcast from – where else – Hackney, London.

The band will be "talking new album, new music, new era" from 2.30pm UK time, and you can watch it below.

"Hackney may be at the heart of Hackney Diamonds, but this is a truly global moment we want to share with fans around the world via YouTube," the Rolling Stones said in a statement.

Rolling Stones LIVE in conversation with Jimmy Fallon

The surviving members of The Rolling Stones' great rivals The Beatles – Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr – are slated to appear on the album.

Also reported to have contributed on the record is Bill Wyman, making his first appearance on a Stones album in three decades.

As well featuring his live replacement Steve Jordan, Hackney Diamonds will also feature drumming recorded by Watts before his death.

Ronnie Wood, Keith Richards and Steve Jordan play with The Rolling Stones
Ronnie Wood, Keith Richards and Steve Jordan play with The Rolling Stones. Picture: Getty Images

American Songwriter has listed 12 songs which were recently registered with American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers under the Jagger-Richards songwriting partnership.

The full list of registered songs are:

  • Angry
  • Bite my Head Off
  • Depending on You
  • Dreamy Skies
  • Driving Me Too Hard
  • Get Close
  • Live by the Sword
  • Mess it Up
  • Morning Joe Cues
  • Sweet Sounds of Heaven
  • Tell Me Straight
  • Whole Wide World

Three of the songs – 'Angry', 'Depending On You' and 'Get Close' – also have producer Andrew Watt listed as a co-writer.

An extremely short snippet of 'Angry' has been teased by the band on various platforms

The Rolling Stones - Doom And Gloom

While it's been nearly two decades since The Rolling Stones last album of newly-written material, they have a few one-off singles and new recordings since then.

2012's GRRR! compilation included the tracks 'Doom and Gloom' and 'One More Shot'.

In 2020, the Stones released surprise lockdown single 'Living in a Ghost Town', which the band played regularly on their SIXTY tour.