Dolly Parton rocks out with epic cover of Queen's anthem 'We Are The Champions'

26 July 2023, 13:44 | Updated: 10 January 2024, 12:50

Dolly Parton has covered Queen's 'We Are The Champions' for her upcoming album Rockstar.
Dolly Parton has covered Queen's 'We Are The Champions' for her upcoming album Rockstar. Picture: Butterfly Records/Getty

By Thomas Edward

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

She's done it all as a legendary country music queen.

But after her decades-long career playing country music, Dolly Parton is finally rocking out at the tender age of 77.

Clearly, at a time in her life and career where she has nothing left to prove, Dolly revealed she's picking up the electric guitar on her upcoming album aptly titled, Rockstar.

An album of cover versions from across the rock 'n' roll pantheon as well as a handful of original numbers, Rockstar is set for release on 17th November 2023.

Dolly isn't messing about on her upcoming tribute to rock music however, enlisting an illustrious list of music legends to help her rock out.

The likes of Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr, Sting, Debbie Harry, Stevie Nicks, Elton John, John Fogerty, Steven Tyler, Mick Fleetwood, and Peter Frampton have all been revealed as collaborators.

One cover that doesn't feature any guests is Queen's 'We Are The Champions', with Dolly seemingly not reaching out to notable absentees Brian May and Roger Taylor for her cover.

Not that she needed them - Dolly's released her epic version and has paid tribute to Freddie Mercury in style.

Dolly Parton - We Are The Champions/We Will Rock You (Official Audio)

It's a surprising turn from Dolly, who sings the triumphant rock anthem with the level of conviction such a classic track requires.

Though she doesn't quite have the same gusto as Freddie's original vocal, Dolly is clearly having fun, and can still lay down a rousing vocal herself as she approaches her 80th year.

Tail-ending the cover with an interpolation of 'We Will Rock You', she's cramming in as much Queen as possible.

It's the second taste of her upcoming rock album she's released so far, having released 'World On Fire', 'Bygones', and a cover of Heart's 1975 hit 'Magic Man' which features the band's Ann Wilson.

Talking about the album in a press statement, Dolly said: "I’m so excited to finally present my first rock n’ roll album, Rockstar!”

"I am very honoured and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time, and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure."

"I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I've enjoyed putting it together!"

Dolly Parton is living out her rock star dreams on her upcoming album.
Dolly Parton is living out her rock star dreams on her upcoming album. Picture: Butterfly Records

Decked out in studded leathers on a motorcycle whilst holding a black guitar, Dolly is clearly having a blast whilst living out her rock 'n' roll fantasies on record, with biggest names in the business all the whole.

She's evidently not consigned to slowing down despite nearing her 80th year on Earth, recently stating that she'd never retire.

"I would never retire. I’ll just hopefully drop dead in the middle of a song on stage someday, hopefully one I’ve written."

Keep rocking Dolly! For the full tracklist to Rockstar, see below:

  1. 'Rockstar' (special guest Richie Sambora)
  2. 'World on Fire'
  3. 'Every Breath You Take' (feat. Sting)
  4. 'Open Arms' (feat. Steve Perry)
  5. 'Magic Man' (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
  6. 'Long As I Can See the Light' (feat. John Fogerty)
  7. 'Either Or' (feat. Kid Rock)
  8. 'I Want You Back' (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
  9. 'What Has Rock and Roll Ever Done for You' (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
  10. 'Purple Rain'
  11. 'Baby, I Love Your Way' (feat. Peter Frampton)
  12. 'I Hate Myself for Loving You' (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
  13. 'Night Moves' (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  14. 'Wrecking Ball' (feat. Miley Cyrus)
  15. '(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction' (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
  16. 'Keep on Loving You' (feat. Kevin Cronin)
  17. 'Heart of Glass' (feat. Debbie Harry)
  18. 'Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me' (feat. Elton John)
  19. 'Tried to Rock and Roll Me' (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
  20. 'Stairway to Heaven' (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
  21. 'We Are the Champions'
  22. 'Bygones' (feat.special guests Rob Halford, Nikki Sixx & John 5)
  23. 'My Blue Tears' (feat. Simon Le Bon)
  24. 'What’s Up?' (feat. Linda Perry)
  25. 'You’re No Good' (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
  26. 'Heartbreaker' (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
  27. 'Bittersweet' (feat. Michael McDonald)
  28. 'I Dreamed About Elvis' (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
  29. 'Let It Be' (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
  30. 'Free Bird' (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)